Review: Power Rangers (2017)

You know who was asking for a Power Rangers reboot? It sure as hell wasn’t me, that’s for positive. And when all the dumb pictures of the new Power Rangers started surfacing on the web, I was certain that it could only get worse from there.

 

power-rangers-2017_589.jpeg

 

And then the trailers came out, and it was basically the same garbage that every bad movie comes out with for a trailer: terrible dialogue with bad one-liners, lackluster CGI, and Elizabeth Banks looked like she was going to be a dopey cartoon villain with absolutely no menace to her whatsoever.

In all honesty, I was ready to get the movie over with and never ever think about it again. The only time I was expecting to think about it was possibly when I was gonna add it to the lower rung of my Worst of 2017 article that I’m gonna have to write this year.

 
Anyway, after all this irritation, The Power Rangers movie was quite good.

 

 

 

I’m going to say this a second time because I still frankly do not believe it: The Power Rangers movie was quite good.

 

 

I know, guys. The trailers looked like a freshly dropped steaming pile of feces, but the movie was satisfying and entertaining, and the story was actually cohesive and logical. Excuse me for a moment, I think I’m going to go throw up.

Okay, now that I got that business out of the way, I’ll talk about the movie.

 

MV5BNjU3NDExMzU2NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjEyODI3MTI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,1502,1000_AL_.jpg

So what really made this movie work so well is the fact that they took a surprising amount of time actually layering these teenage characters. And for the most part, all of these teenagers do a pretty good job at acting. There are a few areas where their performance did not convince me (mainly when the Asian guy was trying to act emotional), but for the large majority of the scenes, they do a great job.

This movie was also able to differentiate when to initiate humor and when to initiate seriousness, something I almost never see in movies marketed to people younger than 20.

 

If I were to pick a favorite of the Rangers, it would have to be RJ Cycler (the Blue Ranger). His character was not only the most fleshed out, but he was also the most likable character. With that said, everyone does a good job for the vast majority of the time, and the movie actually bothers to give them back stories that not only make them human, but also vulnerable.

And good gracious gams, when I heard the higher ups of the movie bragging about how there’s a gay character in their movie, I was afraid it was done solely for the same reason that a much worse movie did it for. But the decision to make the Yellow Ranger interested in girls felt organic to the actual story and never once felt tacked on.

 

Bryan Cranston as Zordon (or to the uninitiated, the giant talking head) was good in his role, and I thought he did a good job portraying him.

Elizabeth Banks, while occasionally cartoony, did have a great deal of menace to her that made me believe that she was actually a threat.

 

MV5BNjI1NmE1NjYtYjY5MS00OGRmLThhYTQtMjI3ZjgzYzViZmZjL2ltYWdlXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNDQxNjcxNQ@@._V1_.jpg

 

The quality of the CGI was actually pretty good, for the most part. There are some scenes, especially when they bring out the big robotic animals, that feel extremely weak, but it’s not so consistently weak that it took me out of the movie.

 

 

If there’s any complaints that I have about this film, the first one would undoubtedly be the soundtrack. The music in this movie is obnoxious, and it consistently harmed every scene that it was in.

The second complaint that I have about the movie is that, as the trailers show, there are a handful of dialogue pieces that are absolutely abysmal in its cheesiness and/or execution. The three reasons that I can be slightly forgiving about this dialogue is that

1: the bad dialogue is mainly spoken by the teenagers, and teenagers aren’t necessarily known for good conversation anyway.

2: It’s The Power Rangers; anybody who has watched any rendition of the Power Rangers knows that the dialogue in this movie is of an exponentially higher quality than every single TV show made.

3: Much of the dialogue isn’t terrible.

 
MV5BMTk2NzAzOTIwMl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjA5MTkxMTI@._V1_SX1777_CR0,0,1777,924_AL_.jpgThat doesn’t mean that the bad dialogue can be forgotten; it means that I am able to accept it more because of the extenuating circumstances.

Also, the main villain’s motivations aren’t as fleshed out as I wanted them to be.

 

 

 

Power Rangers is a surprisingly competent movie with fantastic character development, a healthy amount of humor, a good acting quality, and a story that doesn’t cheat to get our characters to where they needed to be (for the most part). I am extremely tempted to give this movie a point higher than what I’m about to give it because I enjoyed it so much, but I can’t ignore the numerous issues that the movie has.

With that said, I had a lot of fun watching this movie, and I’m extremely willing to see a sequel if it comes out (I suppose that would require it to jump the hurdle that is the $100 million budget).

If you’re looking for a work of genius, then you won’t like this movie, but at the very least, you won’t hate it. If you liked The Power Rangers as a kid, then I would highly, HIGHLY recommend seeing this one, and I’m giving this movie a 6 out of 10.

5 thoughts on “Review: Power Rangers (2017)

  1. Hmm, well you’ve given me something to think about because I think we’re very much the same in your opening caveats. Power Rangers just totally passed me by…but then Cranston. Is it a cash grab for him? Or could this be interesting?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have been told that Cranston was a part of the original power rangers show. I have not confirmed this. If true though, this may be something he did out of love of the original work.

      But yes, I was pleasantly surprised. You may not like it as much as I did, but I can almost guarantee that you won’t hate it as much as you think you will.

      Like

Leave a Reply

