Review: The Accountant

The more I review movies, the more I’ve discovered that Rotten Tomatoes can be a pretty decent measurement of quality. I’ve especially agreed with their ratings on super hero movies and quite a few others. However… sometimes Rotten Tomatoes and its reviewers are, for lack of better terms, pretentious.

I was somewhat surprised when I found out that The Accountant was so low on the tomato-meter, but when I read the consensus all the way through, it was so vain and worthless that I couldn’t help but role my eyes.

 

Screen Shot 2016-10-16 at 9.03.09 AM.png

 

What seemed to be gabbing at many a critic’s brains was that they were irritated by the film’s idea that mild autism can be turned into some sort of superpower, and if that’s all the movie did, then I would agree with them. But it’s almost as if they ignored all of the setup and all of backstory that established people in Christian Wolff’s life that amplify his talents in oftentimes smarmy ways. It was almost as if people wanted to get mad at the movie because reasons. Come on. I mean, it’s not like the movie insinuated that autistic people are more susceptible to spirits.

 

So the performance that really sells this movie is none other than Ben Affleck whose performance has all of the subtleties and quirks that made him infinitely watchable while simultaneously not shoving his personality in your face in an inorganic sort of way like Eva Green was in Peregrine.

The rest of the cast does not do as exceptional of a job as Affleck does, but they all do well nevertheless. J. K. Simmons is the only other performer who is given a chance to really hit a powerful performance, but it was all for about twenty seconds. The rest of the time, he plays standard J. K. Simmons (good thing Simmons is a boss even by average standards).

Anna Kendrick was also good; she mainly serves to develop and perpetuate the idea that Christian Wolff is really bad at conversing with people, but honestly, that isn’t that bad of a thing either.

 

I wasn’t quite expecting the movie to have so much action in it. I mean, the trailers insinuated there would be some, but the amount of action in the movie was more vast than I would have hoped for. This is another quip that many a critic seemed to be frustrated about, but I can’t imagine why. What I enjoyed about this movie is that unlike “Taken” or “John Wick” (both great movies, by the way), The Accountant manages to have a lot of violence in it all the while still managing to have characters that have depth and intrigue.

 

accountant1.jpg

 

The Accountant did a fantastic job of pacing out the information they gave the viewers. It always gave you enough information to not be utterly confusing while not giving up so much information all at once as to compromise all means of intrigue. Their ability to do this worsens over the course of the movie, but considering it’s the beginning part of the movie’s job to suck you in, I’d say The Accountant did its job.

 

There are a few plot elements that I found to be rather confusing. As I was continuing to analyze the movie in my head, I realized there was one key part of the plot that they never fully explained; it was such a key part of the plot that it almost comes close to toppling the whole story.

Also, some of the dialogue was full of jargon and thus, it was a bit hard to follow. There wasn’t so much as to make the movie mind-numbing, but I did find some of the dialogue to be somewhat arbitrary.

There’s also one or two coincidences in the movie that I thought were pushing the bounds of suspension-of-disbelief.

 

accountant-13may15-05.JPG

 

Nevertheless, The Accountant is a solid movie with a strong performance by Ben Affleck and a solid cast of performers. A few parts of the narrative are rather easy to pick apart, but for all the flaws that the story has, it more than makes up for with all of its benefits. There’s a healthy amount of intrigue and action in this movie, and I personally had a lot of fun watching it, and I’m giving this movie a 7 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

