Review: The Infiltrator

The majority of my readers seem to have very good tastes, because most of the time, when one of them asks me to see a specific movie, it tends to be a really good one (which I’m guessing is why no one asked me to watch the just-alright “Ghostbusters“). I was going to see this anyway, what with Bryan Cranston and all, but I am just happy that this movie was exceptional.

 

Bryan Cranston, as usual, does a tremendous job as his character. I would not say that there was something memorable about his performance, but I give him credit anyway because his role did not strike me as just a reprised version of Heisenberg (which, by the way, I’m sorry to say is not the case for Jesse Pinkman / Aaron Paul). There were enough differentiations between him and other roles that I have seen. Cranston once again shows his talent and finesse as an actor.

 

On top of that, not only is every single character acceptable in his role, but John Leguizamo and Diane Kruger are also exceptional in their roles. The interactions between Cranston and Leguizamo, and Cranston and Kruger were not only rich in development, but were also interesting and worthwhile to watch.

 

bryan-cranston-the-infiltrator-second-trailer-0.jpg

 

The story is not necessarily unique (an undercover cop going deep into the drug world), but the fact that it is so wonderfully acted makes this movie exceptional.

 

The first act does not necessarily have the best momentum, but every single act afterwords gets better and better. What the movie does best is build up tension. The Infiltrator emphasizes the emotional and personal trials that one goes through when their job is to become incredibly close to powerful psychopaths, psychopaths that you develop actual bonds with even though you are really trying to bring them down.

Not only that, but every slip of the tongue that one makes in this position must then be mended by their partners and supervisors (either that or get you killed). There were so many scenes that made me feel on edge because of just how high the stakes were.

 

the-true-story-behind-the-infiltrator-a-glimpse-into-the-world-of-medellin-s-deadly-car-1057620.jpg

Amy Ryan, the CIA director from Central Intelligence basically plays the same character in the same role only she is given less screen time and she’s given to a director that is actually worth his salt. Needless to say, I enjoyed her more in this movie than in Central Intelligence.

 

Because this movie is from the 80’s (around the Reagan era), they do have a lot of 80’s music in the soundtrack, which is definitely a plus. When the movie started out with a Rush song, I knew that at least if the movie sucked, the soundtrack would be enjoyable. I only mention this because it seems that music for movies (and music in general) is steadily on the decline in to genericness and awfulness.

 

Now I’ve had movies before that have really sold me on the built-up tension only to deflate on the second viewing when I realize that there is not as much quality to be found upon the second viewing. I hope to watch this a second time to see if this is the case for this movie, but I sincerely believe that this movie will still stand up upon a second viewing.

 

Bryan-Cranston-in-The-Infiltrator.jpg

There are quite a few night club scenes in this movie involving almost nude women, one of said scenes ending up with sex in it. If that bothers you, maybe think twice before seeing the film.

 

This movie is extremely riveting, well crafted, and exceptionally performed. Bryan Cranston is such a good actor and is gifted with a knack for picking excellent projects. If The Infiltrator does not end up being one of my favorite movies of the year, then it will be very close. Definitely check this one out, and I’m giving this movie an 8 out of 10.

 

stevejdonahue.wordpress.com

 

More Dramas

Leave a Reply

