Review: 10 Cloverfield Lane

A note to potential viewers: If you go into this movie hoping that it has ANYTHING to do with Cloverfield, you will be extremely disappointed. As far as I’m concerned, I did not see any quantifiable relation between the two except for maybe a few themes.

 

I, however, was not all that keen on Cloverfield when I saw it in theaters on opening night, so the fact that there was a lack of correlation between the two was not really an issue for me, especially since 10 Cloverfield Lane is a fantastic movie.

 

The biggest strength in the movie is John Goodman’s performance. This is probably the best I’ve seen Goodman in quite some time, and he is the driving force for why this movie is exceptional. Not only is his character memorable, but there are so many subtleties in his performance to enjoy.

NEP8UCYAt6PvTU_1_a.jpg

 

Mary Elizabeth Winstead and John Gallagher Jr. are also more than good in their roles, though compared to Goodman, the two seemed almost overshadowed by contrast. I for one wish they fleshed out Winstead’s character more, because she often came off as a blank-slate character. However, as her character’s eyes are the ones we see the movie through, I suppose it is acceptable. I did find her resourcefulness to be very interesting.

 

This movie also greatly benefits from how well they deliver the series of events. Information is given gradually and slowly, and it twists the narrative in turns that constantly demanded my attention.

There is quite a lot to enjoy about this movie in regards to sound and atmosphere too. There are certain parts of the movie that grasp at you simply by what they do visually and audibly.

 

 

10-cloverfield-lane-image-2.jpg

 

I’m having a hard time trying to articulate what I liked about this movie accurately without spoiling the movie; as far as I’m concerned, this is the type of movie that is best if you go into it knowing as little as possible.

 

My least favorite thing about this movie was undoubtedly the audience. The audience was the most obnoxious group of people on the face of the earth. I could not get sucked into the first part of the movie because the teenage girls in front of us were literally taking snapchats while everything started happening. There would be really dramatic scenes, and right after the scene finished, one of the twerps would make a sound and everyone else would start laughing uproariously. I am not kidding when I say that the child audience that saw Kung Fu Panda 3 with me were upstanding gentlemen compared to these horrendous teenage girls.

 

Anyway, go see this movie as soon as you can. It is captivating, creepy, and exceptionally performed. I’m looking forward to seeing this again without having to deal with people with the brain capacity of a squirrel. My rating for this movie could go a point higher or lower depending on the second time I see it, but for now I’m pretty comfortable with the rating I intend to give it tonight, and I’m giving this movie an 8 out of 10.

 

Leave a Reply

