1,000 Views: Thank Yous and What’s Next

This whole thing started with me writing an analysis on Star Wars: The Force Awakens that explained my reasoning for why I thought it was only alright. The person I promised to write it for never did reply to my arguments. (So I guess I win, John)

 

Once I finished writing my analysis, I realized that I needed to keep on writing and hone my craft. So I combined two great passions of mine: writing and watching movies. Worst case scenario, nobody would care about my opinions and I would just get some writing practice in. Best case scenario, I wasn’t sure.

 

All that I know is that today, before March has even approached, I’ve hit 1,000 views. To all of you who have supported me by clicking on my articles and reading my reviews, thank you so much. I have every intention of continuing, and I hope to eventually start reviewing movies that have been requested by people. Once I find a way to get my hands on whatever movie I want for cheap, that will start happening.

 

A Breakdown of My View Count

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 8.41.10 PM.png

After a combined total of 28 posts, I’ve garnered 1,004 views. These views are split up between 530 visitors, meaning that many people who visited the site clicked on other articles afterwards. For every visitor, I received and average of 1.89 views.

February 13, 2016 is my most viewed day. This was the day that I posted my Deadpool review. It was the first time I was ever able to dethrone the day I posted my analysis on Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 8.41.56 PM.png

My view count has contributions from 10 different countries. Obviously, there’s one country that far exceeds any other one, but I have had more views from Japan and Canada than I expected. To be quite honest, I didn’t even think of any other country reading my reviews besides America.

There’s this reviewer who hails from Canada who is my favorite reviewer on Youtube, YMS or Your Movie Sucks. When I got my first view from Canada, my wife joked that maybe YMS saw some of my reviews. I unabashedly geeked out when she joked about that. It was relatively embarrassing.

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 8.42.25 PM.png

These views do not include the views I got last year (but the only blog post I wrote last year was my Star Wars analysis so it’s not missing much).

Home page/ Archives are essentially people going through my pages to look at the list of content I created. This means that about 20% of my view count comes form people searching around my site rather than clicking on actual reviews.

1st place review, of course, goes to Deadpool (review). My thoughts on Deadpool weren’t necessarily exceptional: I thought it was a satisfying movie. I believe the reason it was so popular was the Deadpool movie was so hyped up.

2nd place goes to Dirty Grandpa (review). As far as I can tell, this will probably be the worst movie of 2016. 50 Shades of Black may have overtaken it if I gave it the chance, but unlike Dirty Grandpa, I knew beyond a reasonable doubt that 50 Shades of Black would be horrendous… so why bother? Dirty Grandpa, however, seemed like it was possibly alright. Boy was I wrong.

3rd place was The Revenant (review), my 2nd favorite movie of 2015. Congrats to Leo for getting The Oscar, by the way. When I saw all the hype on Facebook about him winning one, I wasn’t sure how many people posted the congratulatory statuses because they were riding the hype train, or they actually saw The Revenant and objectively believe he deserved The Oscar (I was part of the latter group).

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 8.44.59 PM.png

The vast majority of my visits came from my Facebook traffic (not surprising).

I have a pretty low following on Twitter, and I don’t mass follow people like I see other content creators doing. I feel it’s pointless and I would rather developing a following the old fashion way: work freaking hard at what you do.

I have about 5 subscribers on WordPress, and as far as I can tell, I don’t get a huge amount of traffic from them.

Something I wasn’t expecting was the search engines. People actually searched for movie related items and found my blog because of it. I’m really interested to see this happen more.

The last two above are from a blog who referenced my review of The Boy. The blog is called TheEverChangingTheatre, and he is at least worth a view. Some of his content I do enjoy.

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 8.44.09 PM.png

The vast majority of my traffic has come from this year. January and February have been great months for me. The goal now is how to bring in more traffic which means how can I keep writing quality content and expand the amount of quality I can put in my content.

 

 

 

LEAST VIEWED BLOG POST: NETFLIX REVIEW: KILLING SEASON (link to the review)

(7 views)

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 8.49.21 PM.png

This really isn’t all that surprising. This was an obscure little Netflix movie that was not all that great. I couldn’t really find any reason why to recommend it to anyone aside from maybe if you desire to see John Travolta have an arrow shot through his right cheek and out his left cheek (of his face).

MOST VIEWED BLOG POST: MY ARGUMENT FOR WHY STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS IS JUST AN ABOVE AVERAGE MOVIE (link to the review)

(92 views)

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 8.48.18 PM.png

This is the blog post that started it all. This movie kind of makes me mad, not because it was a bad movie (it certainly was not), but because it irritates me when movies get an insurmountable amount of credit they do not deserve (I was mad when Turbo Kid got unwarranted praise too). The worst thing is that no one who has vehemently disagreed with me has ever come up with an argument that satisfies me. Their arguments are always based on emotion or demanding that I give Star Wars extra credit that I would never give any other movie that wasn’t Star Wars.

So What’s Next?

I have five things to do on my checklist:

  1. Take some somewhat professional photos that I can use for logos and icons.
  2. Create a Facebook page for my reviews
  3. Write an analysis for Mad Max: Fury Road (as a thank you to everyone who’s read my stuff)
  4. Purchase and write a review for….. Christian Mingle: The Movie (as a thank you to everyone who’s read my stuff).
  5. Keep doing what I’ve been doing for the past two months, but better.

 

Thank you for tuning in guys, and I hope I can continue to earn your time.

2 thoughts on “1,000 Views: Thank Yous and What’s Next

  1. Add another one to your page views!
    Reading this piece I’d say you’ve made a very solid start to your blogging adventure, and as someone who spends far too much time perusing my stats page I enjoyed the information you presented in this post. It might sound silly, but it made my day yesterday to find somebody from Mozambique had clicked on one of my posts.
    I’m sure you’ll continue to enjoy writing and I’ll look forward to your review of Mad Max Fury Road. As someone who spent many years pondering a fourth Mad Max film, even to the point of having unreasonable expectations, I thought Fury Road delivered on all fronts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

