Review: The Boy

I know, I’m late. Sorry.

 

At the end of January, there were three movies that came out that I told people I was going to see. However, by the time I got the excruciating comedy and the uninspired YA drama out of the way, I was not eager to give The Boy a shot because I was expecting it to be as terrible as the other two movies that came out the same time. Not only that but there were a couple of new batches of movies that came out that I wanted to see more.

 

However, a theater close to me had a 12pm showing of The Boy today, and I knew that no one else would be there to see it. I could not help myself but go because I wanted to compare how I felt seeing The Forest all by myself, and seeing this movie all by myself. After I got out of the theater, I feel comfortable saying that out of all four movies I just mentioned, The Boy is the only one worth seeing. I’m disappointed in myself too because by the time anyone reads this, most of the theaters have already stopped showing this movie.

 

The thing I appreciated most about The Boy is the attention to detail. Whoever wrote and/or directed this movie knew what they were doing, which meant that as the series of events continued to play out, the story was not crumbling apart before my eyes.

 

08b39b87bc5090ba_BoyTop.xxxlarge.jpg

 

Not only that, but Lauren Cohan was more than acceptable as the lead actress. There really aren’t any scenes that demand an extraordinary performance from her, but every scene that she did act in, she did well. Aside from Rupert Evans, the grocery boy, most of the other characters are given extremely little screen time, which really focused the movie up on Cohan and the creepy doll she’s been hired to nanny.

 

Because the movie is detail-focused enough, the tension that builds up in this movie feels real. Most of the scares in the movie don’t feel like a cheap and illogical way to startle the audience. In fact, almost nothing in the movie felt lazy or cheap. I found that the series of events that lead Cohan’s character from thinking the doll was stupid to being afraid of it were very sensible and watchable.

 

This movie might fall more into the category of suspense rather than horror. Yeah, there are some creepy scenes and some jump scares, but the movie builds up way more tension than it does horror. If your grade on a horror film is affected by whether or not it was scary, you may not like this film as much as I did. However, whether or not a movie is scary affects my grading scale in a minuscule way.

 

There are a few horror cliches in The Boy that appear in most of the other scary movies I’ve watched, and some of the character logic doesn’t make very much sense, but The Boy stands up on its own enough to not diminish it’s grade.

 

Lauren-Cohan-Holds-Brahms-In-The-Boy-670x338.jpg

 

There is a twist in the movie that I was not expecting. When I started thinking about it on the ride home, I first thought the surprise harmed the movie because it made certain aspects of the film make no sense. However, as I continued to think about all the details that The Boy presented, I found that for the most part, the surprise still makes logical sense and doesn’t tear the narrative to pieces.

That being said, I’m not convinced that everyone will see my point of view. I think some people will think the surprise is stupid. And yeah, maybe it kind of is, but if you pay attention to the details presented, I feel like you won’t be able to tear up the narrative either.

 

I’m glad I finally got to see The Boy. I hope more horror films are like this, and despite my immense disdain for The Walking Dead, this film actually makes me hope I see Lauren Cohan in more films, and I’m giving this movie a 7 out of 10.

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: The Boy

Leave a Reply

