Movies That Impacted My Life

This was a really fun journey for me. In order to write this, I had to remember who I was when I was three all the way to now. It’s really odd thinking about movies, media, and TV shows impacting one’s life in a substantial way. Some of these movies I just simply love, some impacted me in subtle and unconscious ways, and some literally altered the course of my life. Some of them are classics I still love, and some of them are trash that I can no longer tolerate. Still, what all of them have in common is that they impacted my life in a substantial way.

 

This is going to be way more vulnerable than anything I have written on this blog, and I may never write something this vulnerable about movies again. I love writing about movies because they’re one of the few things in life that bring people together, and thus I try to disperse my religious and political beliefs from reviews. That won’t necessarily be the case in some parts of this post.

 

So here’s a recap of my life and the movies that hit me along the way.

 

And yes, if you haven’t guessed by the picture of Rick Grimes, some of these aren’t movies but TV shows.

(Note: Anything that I mention is up to be spoiled. Here’s your warning.)

 

 

 

1. Aladdin 

Aladdin-disneyscreencaps.com-3602.jpg

This is sort of a place holder for the three disney movies my family owned: The Lion King, Beauty and the Beast, and of course Aladdin. However, of the three, Aladdin was my absolute favorite. It was the funniest, as a character Aladdin was awesome, Robin Williams as the genie was amazing, all of the ensemble characters were really great….. and of course Aladdin supplied one of the first initial signs that I liked girls.

 

 

 

disney-princess_28129_7.jpg

 

Princess Jasmine was a huge crush of mine. There was just something about her. Her voice, her hair… well… it was probably her exposed midriff. Just getting real with you all, but as a three year old seeing Jasmine’s bare shoulders and the curvature, I was oddly enticed. I had absolutely no idea why at the time; it just freaking happened. I find it both hilarious and intriguing that my 3-year-old brain looked at that and realized that something I saw in a movie was erotic before I even knew why things were erotic. Sure, I thought Belle was really pretty, but it wasn’t like Princess Jasmine. The only real difference between them (aside from skin tone and class status) was that Jasmine was wearing more revealing clothes.

 

Anyway.

 

I find all of this kind of ironic now because my parents were hyper-sensitive as to what I was allowed to watch. My first PG-13 rated movie and R rated movie were both controlled events that my parents decided on, and they waited on both until I was in my teens. I was fairly sheltered as a kid; this probably sounds like a bad thing to most people, and maybe an argument can be made that it is, but looking back at it as a young man, I kind of appreciate that my parents felt that my innocence was worth keeping ahold of when I was still young. Lots of my friends saw their first rated R movie when they were 5, right when my biological brain was trying to figure out why I couldn’t stop staring at Princess Jasmine. None of those kids had parents that protected their innocence, and I personally think I was better off. I didn’t need to see “Silence of the Lambs” or “Reservoir Dogs” when I was 5.

 

Back to the movie; another thing that made Aladdin great was that Jafar was a terrifying villain. He just seemed so evil and manipulative, and I was way more scared of him than I was of Scar or Gaston (but no boy is afraid of Gaston). I had nightmares about the dude. There was a true sense of danger and urgency in stopping Jafar. This isn’t just because of how well Jafar does as a villain, but the tone the movie takes after Jafar takes control of Agrabah made it clear to my little brain that Jafar was someone that needed to be stopped.

All of this doesn’t even mention the influence the classic Disney movies had on nearly every kid my age. Like it or not, the original Disney movies have impacted movies in a way that very few films have. Not only that, but the movies have had a clear impact on society and how people not only view the past, but the present. I was no exception to this effect.

 

 

 

2. Pokemon 

cd891d05-f8d9-4d02-82d3-a7f5656cdb18.jpg

I hated sleep as a kid. I struggle with sleep appreciation today, and my wife will tell you as much. However, when I was a child, it was worse. The sheer call for isolation with my crazy child thoughts was so enticing that I just wanted to wake up early everyday. I started making a habit of getting up at 6 A.M., and one day, I turned on the TV and started watching this really odd cartoon.

That cartoon was Pokemon. Like many, many kids before and after me, I caught this Pokemon sickness that would infect me for at least half a decade, and it all started with this stupid cartoon.

Being a Pokemon master was something I wished I could be, and catching Pokemon was something I obsessed over. I collected the cards, played the games, got the toys for Christmas, and I even got that Pokemon board game.

 

PM5.jpg

Yeah this board game.

 

This may be the very first TV/film related thing that I became obsessed with. My brothers and I talked about Pokemon so much that our parents had specific days set aside where we weren’t allowed to talk about it. Come to think of it, I feel so bad for my parents now. I made my dad go see Pokemon 2000 in theaters with me… I think twice. I later tried watching it as an adult, and boy was it a struggle to not turn it off after 15 minutes.

I’m amazed that the Pokemon TV show hasn’t stopped. Not only that, but my wife and I still buy the games and play them together. Pokemon may be something that never dies; I may be in my thirties showing my kids how to play the Pokemon games. I’ll try not to think about that very often.

 

 

3. The Star Wars Trilogy 

startril.jpg

This seems so cliche for me to add to the list. I know, I know, Star Wars has affected almost everybody’s life, but to deny the impact Star Wars had on me would not be right.

 

My parents owned the VHS triple pack, the one where Leonard Maltin interviews George Lucas before each movie.

Unknown-1.jpegUnknown.jpeg

For the life of me, I don’t remember what they were talking about (it must’ve been about Star Wars…), but I always watched the interviews intently before I realized that the VCR could fast forward…

Star Wars was something special for me. It was undoubtedly the first movie my parents showed us that they could actually watch with us without mentally throwing up. When I first saw the VHS pack, I looked at all the pictures on the covers and thought “This looks like an old people movie.” God was I wrong.

When I hear people my age say that they always wanted to play outside and pretend to be Luke Skywalker or Han Solo, I couldn’t relate to that, because I never wanted to be Han Solo. Luke Skywalker was the noble hero that I looked up to.

Also, unconventional as my opinion may be, when I was a kid, my favorite of the trilogy was Return of the Jedi, and my least favorite was The Empire Strikes Back. Aside from “Empire” being the most depressing one, the reason I liked “Jedi” more is that it showed Luke being extremely heroic. I looked up to Luke so much as a kid, and I always wanted to be him. On the other side, “Empire” seems to not focus on Luke as much because he’s off training while everyone else is fighting the empire.

Now that I’m older, I can appreciate all the movies for what they are, but I would like to return to those films soon. The biggest reason that I want to watch them soon is because Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens was such a flawed movie to me. And when I saw everybody fanboy over the movie unnecessarily (in my opinion of course), it made me self-reflect and wonder if I had the same blinders on when I saw the original trilogy… part of me is afraid to watch them again because I don’t want them to be ruined… but one day, I’ll watch them and see if they stand the test of time.

 

4. Signs 

FCC-Signs-Foil-Hats.jpg

This movie was like a rite of passage for me. M Night Shyamalan’s movie was the first PG-13 movie I was allowed to see. It was also the first movie I saw that would be considered “scary” (though most people would categorize Signs as suspense). I got to watch it with my parents when I was 11 or 12, and I thought it was fantastic.

It may have taken me one or two extra views to actually understand some of the jokes, but I thought this was a really funny movie, and I really enjoyed Joaquin Phoenix and Mel Gibson’s chemistry. Not only that, but I was afraid of the aliens.

After watching it as an adult, I can still enjoy this movie, but it doesn’t have the same effect it use to. After giving it some thought, I would probably give this movie a 7 out of 10, but I’ll have to watch it again before I’m certain.

One of the reasons I really love Signs is because it is a great example of a movie possessing a Christian undertone without being incredibly preachy. I will probably write a blog piece about this eventually, but one of my biggest disappointments regarding films is that most Christian filmmakers create films that are unwatchable. Signs, however, makes an interesting story about an alien invasion, all the while having Mel Gibson’s struggle with his faith in God in the background, showing how this struggle is affecting him and his children. It’s beautiful and touching, and I wish a lot of Christian themed movies took note of this, that movies about God and Jesus can have other things going on in it. Instead we get Nicolas Cage in Left Behind (which I intend to review eventually provided Netflix doesn’t remove it), and Kirk Cameron’s Saving Christmas. Maybe I’m not watching the right Christian movies.

 

Now, I know M Night Shyamalan gets a lot of hate; I too have a hard time forgiving him with how he destroyed any chance of getting a good Avatar: The Last Airbender movie. But Signs is so near and dear to me that I can never fully dislike him. Some people may say that Signs isn’t all that great, but to me, it’s one of my favorite Shyamalan films, if not my favorite.

 

5. Braveheart 

11AC16AD000005DC-3065778-image-a-20_1430613422823.jpg

Like Signs, Braveheart was a rite of passage in that it was the first Rated R movie that I was allowed to see. Along with Signs, it seems that my young life was filled with Mel Gibson movies, but to be honest, if you have to watch a Mel Gibson movie, you can’t go wrong with Braveheart.

 

This movie is awesome. Not only was it filled with fighting and swords and death, but it also had a great lead protagonist that I loved watching: William Wallace. Wallace delivers some of the greatest war speeches and lots of movies afterward have tried to imitate that greatness with varying degrees of success, from Idris Elba in “Pacific Rim” to Kristen Stewart in “Snow White and the Huntsman”. Yet no speech could get to the level of epicness like the ones in Braveheart… maybe Independence Day.

 

Braveheart_Freedom_Speech_HD__160738.jpg

 

Braveheart approaches topics that I really don’t often see approached in movies anymore: brotherhood, bravery, and honor. This film may be the reason I love movies that emphasize these kind of topics, especially brotherhood. William Wallace’s two brotherhood friendships, Hamish and later Stephen, are two pillars that help him throughout his entire journey. They inspired each other, they protected each other.

After being alive for twenty four years, I’ve realized that having brothers, related or not, is infinitely invaluable. Good brotherhood relationships essentially sharpen men and tests their character. Men who do not have close friendships with other men essentially have a lot less accountability, support, and improvement. What is even more unfortunate today is that movies do not seem to emphasize relationships of brotherhood anymore, and society as a whole today seems to either look at brotherhood friendships in movies as either a watered down “bromance”, the crass “bros before hoes”, or simply homoerotic tension between two men trying to be straight. I hate this. I hate all of this so much. It pains me that movies hardly emphasize strong male friendships anymore.

 

 

6. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy 

lord-of-the-rings-trilogy.jpg

Unlike the original Star Wars trilogy, I know for a fact that the Lord of the Rings trilogy has withstood the test of time for me.

These movies are so well created and performed, and the themes are classic and as old as time itself. These were the movies that I talked about all the time with my brothers during middle school, they were the movies we’d reenact with our friends in the backyard of whoever’s house we were at. My friends always made me be Gandalf, which I will just assume was a compliment.

 

I really do not have much more to say about this trilogy; I guess I could talk about the societal impact, or how well-made these movies are, or the Christian undertones in the movie, or anything else. But honestly, in comparison to all other movies I’ve already talked about, I fear I’ll make this piece bloated or redundant. The only reason I kept this trilogy here (instead of removing like I did other movies I thought would make this list) is because the movies were undeniably prevalent in my young life.

 

I will say that with The Lord of the Rings in mind, I’m baffled that Peter Jackson missed the mark with The Hobbit movies. Sure, they aren’t Star Wars Prequels bad, but a lot of the emotion, fluency, and authenticity that is found in the Lord of the Rings trilogy is not in The Hobbit trilogy (maybe it’s because The Hobbit wasn’t supposed to be a trilogy).

 

 

 

7. The Star Wars Prequel Trilogy

1-prequels.jpg

There are many people in this world that have always hated the Prequels. I was not one of them. The main reason for this is because it was the Star Wars that I was able to grow up with. When The Phantom Menace came out, I was seven years old and the sheer concept of getting to see a new Star Wars film excited me to no end.

When I got out of the theatre, I remember being amazed by it. I thought Qui-Gon Jinn was awesome. I thought Darth Maul was the coolest thing ever. I thought pod racing was exciting… I even got the game for Nintendo 64.

 

243512_Star-Wars-Episode-I-Racer__00 (1).jpg

 

I even remember thinking Jar Jar Binks was funny at one point (shudder). Sure, I thought a lot of Anakin’s lines were kind of lame, but I still absolutely loved everyone and everything about the movie.

 

Attack of the Clones was about the same. I thought all of the Jedi in the movie were awesome. I remember being ecstatic about seeing lightsaber-wielding aliens fighting hordes of battle droids. I thought Yoda flipping around with his small lightsaber was really cool. Sure, I thought some of Anakin’s lines were kind of embarrassing, but still nothing stopped me from thinking it was the best movie ever…. I think I even remember telling my parents that I thought it was the best movie ever… I was ten years old.

 

Finally, there was Revenge of the Sith. This is where I started to realize, maybe these Star Wars Prequels don’t hold up as films. I remember seeing it one night with one of my neighborhood friends and his dad. On the final scene, where Darth Vader realizes that Padme is dead, and he yells “NOOOOOOOOOO!!!”, my friend’s dad started bursting out laughing. I remember being offended, as if I thought you weren’t allowed to laugh at a Star Wars movie.

 

So years passed, I get into high school, and one day, when I was around 17 years old, I decided it would be a great idea to watch Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom menace again. As I began to watch it, it was like my eyes opened up to a horrible reality: it sucked and it was boring. That ten year split between the first time I saw it and the last time created a major shock. Some time later, I watched the other two prequels and realized that both of them were not as good as I remember.

Today, as a 24 year old man, when I heard a good friend of mine say that he thought Revenge of the Sith was better than A New Hope, I actually lost a bit of respect for him.

 

I could tell you why all three movies are absolutely terrible, but it’s been done before by people who have analyzed it painstakingly. One of the best analyses for the Prequels has been done by a Youtube channel called Red Letter Media. If you want someone to explain to you, in excruciating detail, how every Star Wars Prequel movie fails as a film in every single aspect, you should watch them. It will take you a grand total of about six hours, so only watch them if you have the time.

You don’t really need to watch these, I’m just putting these out there just in case you’re curious.

Episode I: The Phantom Menace

Episode II: Attack of the Clones

Episode III: Revenge of the Sith

 

There is some pretty stupid humor and skits sprinkled throughout the reviews, but aside from that, they make extremely strong cases.

Or don’t watch them and enjoy the Prequels. Doesn’t make a difference to me.

 

 

8. Reservoir Dogs & Pulp Fiction

9894632_orig_Fotor_Collage.jpg

I put these in the same category because they both essentially had the same effect on me: they were instrumental in my loss of innocence. As I began to go to public school (I was homeschooled until I was in 10th grade), I made my own friends and left the cultural bubble I knew for so long. I also started seeing movies that never would have entered my house.

And Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction were two movies I remembered most. There were some positives about seeing these movies; it laid down the foundation for a longing for movies to have standards. Like him or hate him, Tarantino does a fantastic job with pacing, cinematography, story, acting, and dialogue in his films. Though these movies didn’t create the fire in me to have standards for movies, it at least kindled something.

 

But like I said, these movies were mostly known for the negative effects on me. When I saw both of those movies, there was some sense of innocence in me that was taken away. I felt like I realized something about the world that I never realized before: that there was a sense of cruelty in humanity that I couldn’t imagine was possible. Each movie had a specific scene that did this to me the most:

In Reservoir Dogs, it was the scene when Mr. Blonde carved off the cop’s ear while torturing him.

In Pulp Fiction, it was when the pawn shop owners were raping Marcellus Wallace.

 

Even though both movies kept going after those scenes happened, in both cases, it was the only thing I could think about. I had simply never seen anything resembling that before. It was like I stopped being naive about life and realized the wretchedness of humanity. Because I was raised as a Christian, I was always aware of human depravity, but I never really saw anything that really solidified the idea.

Why? Because no movie I’ve seen before these two ever attempted to dwell on these kind of human actions but instead skimmed over them. Some movies touch on horrible actions, but it’s always done offscreen or sanitized as to not expose humanity at its worst.

This may be commentary on movies and movie-goers in general, but most people don’t go to movies to get smacked with cruel reality. Both of my parents are like this and so is my wife. If a film is overly brutal, they will hate it no matter how well done the movie was.

 

An argument can be made that people shouldn’t subject themselves to the sheer evil in humanity (an argument I hear my parents make a lot), and I can sympathize with their arguments. But regardless of who’s right, there is no going back for me. Watching both of these movies cracked my brain in a way and now almost no movie can touch me traumatically.

Because of this I both love and hate Quentin Tarantino.

 

The most ironic thing? It was my really religious Catholic friend I made at school that showed me these movies.

 

 

9. The Boondock Saints 

BoondockSaintsGame_THUMB.jpg

After the initial shock from Tarantino wore off, I began to see movie after movie that pushed the envelope. One of these films was Troy Duffy’s “The Boondock Saints”. When I first saw this movie, I thought it was pretty good, but after watching it a second time at a friend’s graduation party, I fell in love with it.

 

I could not get over how much I thought the dialogue was witty and edgy. But more importantly, I saw the two Irish MacManus brothers (played by Sean Patrick Flannery and the now famous Norman Reedus) as heroes with a close knit brotherhood and code. They stood firm in what they believed in and they were good at what they did: killing anybody who was too evil to live.

The thought excited me: going into a hotel room with pistols and rope and killing mobsters and other wretched ilk. At the time, it felt like substance. It felt like conviction. It felt like something to believe in. There was this power that I longed for, to be able to make a difference, and this movie essentially exploited that longing at the right time.

I obsessed over this movie. I made a necklace that looked like the ones that the MacManus’s wore. I started getting P-coats and wore them every single day that merited wearing one. I lived and breathed this movie for the second half of my high school life.

 

However, I really can’t stomach this movie anymore… for a few reasons.

 

The first reason is the sequel. When The Boondock Saints II: All Saints Day came out, most people were underwhelmed. I was angry. I saw the first movie as an ideology, as something to believe in. The sequel proved to me that The Boondock Saints was really just a joke that some jerk from Boston made to get famous. The dark humor was replaced with slapstick, the characters that died off in the first movie were replaced with exact replicas with either different genders or different ethnicities, and the villains were cartoons instead of wretched people deserving to die. Whenever I talk about All Saints Day to people who had also seen the movie, they always tell me that the movie wasn’t as bad as I was saying it was. Those people just didn’t get it; I saw the first movie as something it was never intended to be, and the sequel blew the smoke away and what I saw afterwards made me furious.

 

The second reason is that I simply saw more cinema. Before The Boondock Saints, I didn’t really see any films that were witty and intelligent. Without anything to compare it to (aside from Tarantino’s iconic movies), I held The Boondock Saints as the standard for how I viewed other movies. After watching movies from directors like Guy Ritchie and Martin Scorsese, I realized that The Boondock Saints simply did not hold up at all.

 

The third reason is because I watched it at least ten times all the way through and I simply cannot fathom sitting through it again.

 

And the fourth reason is how my dad reacted to watching the movie with me. As stated before in the Tarantino bit, my parents were not fans of any movie that was gruesome, obscene or edgy. The Boondock Saints was not only all of those things, but it was also especially classless while doing so. My dad hated the movie so much that he walked out before it was over. I don’t know why I showed it to him in the first place; I guess I figured the movie could do no wrong. His reaction shook me to my very core; I had never seen my dad hate something I loved so much. I was terrified and humiliated. I had no idea what to do. As the days turned into months, and I considered all these things, I began to question if this movie deserved all of the attention I was giving it.

 

Ultimately, after obsessing over this film for three years, I tossed everything. All the posters, the necklace, and the DVD’s. The only piece I still have is a t-shirt I got from Hot Topic that has the MacManus brothers’ silhouettes over the Irish flag, and I only use it as a shirt to sleep in and to paint in. The Boondock Saints is a relic from a past that I don’t like to look at anymore. It’s more embarrassing to think of me watching this movie than me watching the Pokemon cartoons.

There will always be a place in my heart for the Connor and Murphy MacManus and who I really wanted them to be, but they’re now tucked away deep inside, in a place I rarely look at anymore, and that is probably where they will stay until I die.

 

 

10.Fight Club 

1035x687-fightclub-1800-1406035542.jpg

Leaving high school was odd for me. I really did not have any close friends until I got into high school, and after a month of being in college, my friend group that I spent three years getting close to suddenly evaporated. On top of that, I was in the middle of angrily leaving a church I spent half of my life at, and I went through a horrendous breakup with a girl I foolishly intended on spending the rest of my life with. Most of this was teenage angst and unrealistic expectations, but the main point is that once I left high school, I lost everything shortly afterwards.

 

One of the few things that I was able to hold onto was my growing love and appreciation for cinema. I began going to V-Stock to buy cheap DVD’s. Among the films that I bought were some fantastic titles including “Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World”, “Thank You For Smoking”, and “Fight Club”.

 

Fight Club came at a peak time in my life. I was slowly waning off of The Boondock Saints, and my mind was ripe for a new movie to obsess over. And since this was a period in my life where I questioned everything I ever stood for, I was looking for a movie with an ideology I could aspire to follow. Fight Club did that for me. In essence, the movie had everything I was yearning for: a search for stability, a hatred of consumerism, a binding brotherhood of men, and a purpose to radically change the world.

 

Like The Boondock Saints, I eventually got over Fight Club and recognized the absurdity and outlandishness that the ideology offered. However, unlike The Boondock Saints, Fight Club has still withstood the test of time for me. I have taken off my blinders to the movie and still find a great amount of enjoyment in it.

 

But Fight Club and The Boondock Saints both itched a spot in my mind that I longed to be scratched. The longer I stayed in college, the more hatred I had towards the world. Both movies seemed to respond to how screwed up I thought the world was with a very similar message: burn everything down.

It wasn’t until I found God again that I stopped looking for an answer to why the world was the way it was; Fight Club was the last movie I ever saw as ideology. I have never had a desire to see movies that way again; my passion for movies still holds firm, but I don’t obsess over them as I use to.

 

 

11. The Walking Dead

twd.jpg

Every time I think of this show, I start foaming at the mouth. This show is absolute garbage. If anybody wants, I plan to eventually post my thoughts on the Walking Dead as a whole, but that won’t be for a very long time.

However, as with the Star Wars Prequels, The Walking Dead had a very serious effect on my life. It was the first serious TV show I followed extensively, and it was the reason I eventually ended up watching shows like Dexter, Sons of Anarchy, and my absolute favorite show, Breaking Bad.

I could not believe it when I first heard that they were making a zombie TV show. I thought the day would never come, and when I saw the commercials for it, I saw someone who I thought I’d never see again: Norman Reedus, one of the MacManus brothers from The Boondock Saints. Now, I had to see it. And I absolutely loved it. I loved Rick, I loved Daryl, and I was extremely invested in all the characters.

Then one day, there was this inkling in my mind. I was constantly trying to convince myself that Season 2 of the Walking Dead was still good, but I noticed how slowly paced everything was getting, how repetitive the show was becoming, and how interchangeable all of the personalities were. Season 3 came out, and though there were some brilliant parts in the season, I couldn’t help but realize the continuous drop in quality.
One day, I finally started watching Breaking Bad, and after about four or five episodes, I remember thinking, “Wow, I did not know a show could cover so much ground in one episode.” It wasn’t just Breaking Bad though; Dexter, Sons of Anarchy, what little I’ve seen of Game of Thrones, they all use the show time to cover a lot of ground with every episode. The only show I could think of that had the pacing of a snail was The Walking Dead.

Then came the comic books. And once I read the comic books, I realized that every story point in the TV show is a copy of what happens in the comics, except the TV show always managed to execute the same events in a way that made for much less compelling storytelling, or missed the mark entirely. Now, The Walking Dead is just one big soap opera with zombies.

Also, I just wanted to take the time to say this because it’s my blog: Screw Chris Hardwick and his stupid “Talking Dead” talentless, cash grab, vomit fest which later decided to creep its way into Breaking Bad’s last season, relabeling itself as “Talking Bad”. My brain is dry-heaving as I type.

 

One day, as I was on Youtube, I became frustrated because even though I knew there was something wrong about The Walking Dead, it seemed like nobody else did. Everybody I knew kept singing its praises, and I felt like I was the only one who thought the show was garbage. I started to look for videos that reaffirmed my opinion about the show. Little did I know that this search for affirmation would cause me to stumble upon the guy who inspired the way I look at movies today: Your Movie Sucks (YMS).

 

This weird, deranged Youtuber essentially makes extremely long Youtube videos explaining why movies suck. And he did four videos on The Walking Dead Season 1 & 2, and explained all the slimy, sociopathic things that AMC did to sabotage The Walking Dead and make more money for themselves in the process. Because of these videos, my disdain for The Walking Dead turned into hatred for both the show and AMC in general. If you’re like me and cannot figure out why The Walking Dead isn’t the show everyone says it is, I highly recommend at least checking part 1 out. If you’re one of those people who love the show, and can’t understand why I hate it so much, these videos will probably best explain my thoughts.

 

The Walking Dead may have ended as a huge disappointment for me, but there is no denying its impact in my life. Without it, I would have never branched out to other shows, and I would not have tried to write reviews for movies. If I never watched this show before, there is no telling how different my opinions and insight on movies would be.

So thanks, Walking Dead. Now hurry up and cancel yourself.

 

 

12. Mad Max: Fury Road

mad-max-screen-3.0.jpg

As I grew more as a human being, movies became an even bigger means of communication with other people. All movie lovers generally have one thing in common: they like talking about their opinions on movies with other people. I also personally love finding a movie that I can show to everyone and have everybody love it and talk about it.

 

However, as a person with an extremely large film viewing palate, I started realizing that not all the movies I enjoy are very recommendable. Sure you can talk to just about anyone about Star Wars or Lord of the Rings, but not everyone is going to want to watch Fight Club, or Goodfellas, or Reservoir Dogs, or Snatch.

 

At the same time, my standards for movies are continually becoming significantly higher than people who just want to see the next Pixar movie. I longed to find to find a middle ground: movies that not only are smart, intelligent, masterful movies but can also appeal to people who don’t want to see all the cursing and brutality.

 

So when I saw that Mad Max: Fury Road was going to be in theaters in January 2015, I almost knew that I would love it, despite the fact that I never saw any Mad Max movie before it. However, I did not expect just how much this movie would grab ahold of me. Tom Hardy and Charlize Theron are both phenomenal. The cinematography is breathtakingly impressive. The stunts are meticulous. The subtleties in the movie are more than intelligent. There are just so many things that I love about Mad Max: Fury Road. On top of that, I was extremely surprised at how there was no cursing, and the brutality was kept to a minimum.
I came back home and told my wife that I thought she might actually like this movie. And not only did she like it, but she pointed out things in the movie that I didn’t even notice. It’s maybe the one movie that we both enjoy equally. We even celebrated our first Christmas Eve together by putting it on and having a rum and coke.

 

Mad Max: Fury Road was a sign of things to come, that I could still love a movie and be majorly affected by it, and that I could still find movies that I would want to show everyone. It’s my favorite movie of 2015, and it’s possibly a 10 out of 10 for me (I still need to give that some thought though).

 

I also enjoyed all the different takes on it; some people pen this as a feminist movie, and I’ve even heard some people argue the exact opposite. To me, it’s a story of men and women’s need for each other. They could not have escaped Immortan Joe without each other, and they both would not have found redemption without each other. They’re both capable warriors, they’re both damaged people, and they both pretty much despise each other at first. But in the end, they needed each other to survive.

 

Maybe it’s naive of me to take the middle ground, but hey.

 

As the years continue to come and go, I wait eagerly for the next movie that will affect me in a substantial way.

 

 

 

 

 

If anyone actually got through this entire thing, thank you so much for taking the time to read this. I hope you enjoyed reading it.

The next upcoming days, the plan for me is to review “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” as well as “Hail, Caesar” and maybe “The Boy” if I’m lucky enough.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

