On Netflix: Kung Fury

I’m not really sure where to start with this film. I had it on my Netflix queue for a while because a friend of mine recommended it to me. When my wife came home from work, I realized that if I had any hope of watching a movie with her, she would have to pick it from my queue. So I went through all of the movies I placed in my queue and she told me to turn “Kung Fury” on.

Kung Fury is an homage to 1980s cop dramas and kung fu movies. It throws in every cliche imaginable tied to those genres and does so on an extremely small budget. It is only 30 minutes long.

This film is also an absolute blast.

In only 30 minutes, Kung Fury managed to make me laugh more times than Adam Sandler did in two hours, not that these films should be compared, but you get the picture.

One of the things I really appreciated about this film is how self-aware it was. The acting is absolutely terrible, the premise is beyond ridiculous, and the set designs are almost entirely created on green screens. However, all of these elements seemed completely intentional because of either budget restrictions or in the name of satirizing the genres.

Despite the low budget, there are two semi-famous cameos in this movie. One of the cameos, I definitely don’t want to spoil, but the other one is Jorma Taccone from the band “The Lonely Island”, and he was undoubtedly the worst part of the film.

I really don’t want to talk about this movie very much because I want you guys to see it with as little information as possible.

I can’t give Kung Fury a rating in good conscience because it isn’t the length of an actual movie, but I enjoyed this film so much that I just had to raise awareness of it. It’s honestly a good thing that they were only able to make it a short film; if they made it any longer, I’m betting the jokes would have gotten repetitive and stale. If you have a Netflix subscription, it is a quick watch, and if you don’t have Netflix, they’re offering it on their website for $5.

 

Definitely check this one out.

Leave a Reply

