Review: The Revenant

If the reason DiCaprio keeps performing in exceptional movies is because he’s trying desperately to get an Oscar, I sort of hope he doesn’t ever get one so he keeps trying.

This movie really impressed me. There were times in the film where I had to stop and think, “Holy crap, was that all one shot?” I guess I should’ve expected as much from the director of Birdman.

This movie did quite a few things for me. First, it has reinforced Tom Hardy as one of my favorite actors. His role as Fitzgerald was absolutely fantastic, and I was very happy that he ended up playing a role that did not remind me of Mad Max or Bane. For me, most actors and actresses show up in a movie and they just seem like a very similar version of other characters they played. Hardy is one of the few actors who has an astoundingly diverse character palate, and I’ll willingly pay to see any movie he’s in from now on (unless that means watching Lawless again… God that movie was boring).

While Leonardo DiCaprio’s character, Hugh Glass, was not as exceptional as Hardy’s role, what DiCaprio does as a physical actor in this movie is beyond anything I’ve ever seen. The sheer determination, resourcefulness and agony in his character was moving, and though awards shows do not really matter all that much to me, I still think old Leo at least deserves to be nominated for this work.

That one guy who plays General Hux in Star Wars is also in it, and needless to say, I liked his character in The Revenant better.

This movie is not for the squeamish. There’s quite a bit of gore and flesh tearing, and I writhed in my seat a few times. There were a couple of moments in the movie where I thought “How in the world is he going to get out of this? Oh… oh… he’s going to do THAT… Oh God…”

 

Oh… right, there is also a rumor tied to this movie that I’ll address. I won’t go into spoiler territory, but it’ll be more specific about a movie than I try to be in a review. If you haven’t seen this movie and you have a problem with that, just skip the paragraph below.

 

Now, is there a rape scene involving a bear and Leonardo DiCaprio? No, of course not, though considering the things a bear does do to DiCaprio, a rape would have probably been less painful and agonizing. There is, however, a rape scene in the movie itself involving neither DiCaprio or a bear, and the visuals and sounds in the scene are enough to be uncomfortable… just in case that stuff ruins a movie for you.

 

The only thing that really took me out of the movie was the dream sequences that play in Hugh Glass’s head throughout the movie; it felt distracting, unnecessary, and it bogged down an otherwise serious-toned movie with surreal sequences that do not add to the story in a substantial way. There’s also a character that DiCaprio meets that I kept thinking “Oh, that person’s going to affect the outcome of the story later.” and sure enough, the character does.

Aside from those things though, this movie is an amazing experience and I highly recommend it to anyone who’s a serious film viewer, that is of course if any of my warnings are deal breakers to you.

It’s films like these that made me wish I was more proactive in going to theaters last year. The Revenant got the closest to dethroning Mad Max: Fury Road as my favorite movie of 2015, and I’m giving this movie a 9 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

